Enchiladas…the healthy way!

As I was preparing dinner for my family tonight, I was looking at my can of enchilada sauce.  It seemed simple with not many ingredients.  As I continued on down the label, I read the sodium content.  450 mg of sodium per serving (which was 1/4 cup) and there were 13 SERVINGS per can!  Ahhh!  There was no way that I was going to use that!  That is enough sodium to elevate anyones blood pressure and choke a horse mind you!  So, I tried to think of how I could make enchiladas healthier and I came up with this.  They were SO GOOD, easy, and healthy!  My family loved them!

20140715-185232-67952763.jpg

 

Ingredients:

  • Sprouted grain tortillas

20140715-190656-68816565.jpg

  • Shredded chicken breast (previously made in the crockpot as posted on my blog)
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • 1 can of mild Rotel tomatoes

20140715-190657-68817513.jpg

  • 3 fresh tomatillos blended with a little vinegar and a little water (enough to make it runny)

20140715-190656-68816937.jpg

  •  I also added jalapeños to mine and my husbands

Preparation: Fill tortillas with chicken and a little cheese (and jalapeños if desired), pour can of Rotel tomatoes and tomatillo mixture over enchiladas, and sprinkle cheese over top to your liking.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes!

They were so good!  If you’ve ever seen the “What about Bob” movie where Bob was enjoying his dinner from Faye, that is what my kids and husband were doing at the dinner table over and over!  Mmmm!  Mmmm!  Love that movie by the way!  I hope your family enjoys them as much as mine did!

If you like my recipes and tips: please take a moment to “follow” my blog at the bottom right of the page or “like” my Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/KrazyKolterLifestyle05

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

